Not Your Ordinary Lentil Soup: Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Lentil Soup

The lentil soup I usually make is fairly standard so I’m not sure what got into me today. This version is amazing! The recipe (for 2-3 servings) is below:

1. Cut up your seasoning veggies – I used red onion, garlic, celery, tomato, red bell pepper

2. Cut up your substantive soup veggies – I used butternut squash and carrots

3. I decided to roast the sweet pepper and tomato – pour about a teaspoon of olive oil over and sprinkle with a little salt then shove under your broiler. Roasting these veggies will add SOOO much flavour to your soup. You’ll know the veggies are done roasting when they’re shriveled and look like this:

4. Sautee your other veggies – I used turkey bacon for flavour so sautee three strips or so then add the onion, garlic and celery until (and you’ll release all their yummu juices). When they’re soft looking, add the lentils, squash, and carrots to the pot.

5. Add red wine – I love rich flavour this gives!

6. Add water to your soup – I really don’t like to use chicken stock (if I use chicken stock, I’ll make my own). The different veggies will add ’nuff flavour to the soup. Only add enough water to more than just cover the veggies.

7. Cover the pot and bring to a boil. Then reduce heat and let simmer. About 15 minutes away from completion (you’ll test the lentils and they should be about done), uncover the pot and continue to cook the soup for a few more minutes.

8. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

