Open Letter to My Running Shoes

Hey Asics,

How’s it going? It has been quite sometime since we’ve met up. I haven’t been ignoring you; not intentionally anyways. It is just that my body sucks my now, my ankle to be more specific. After two months, it still friggin hurts. But that is not your fault (or is it?).

You sit there so patiently, so quietly. Looking all nice and fancy-schmancy with your SuperFeet insoles…one of you even has a special extra insert to help with my IT band issues. But, alas, you go unused. I admire your patience and steadfastness.

I miss slipping my feet into you. I miss your super-comfortable, cushion-y feel. I miss the distances you used to take me. I miss the high you used to give me. I shall return to you one day.

With much love,

Dani

2 Responses

  1. Open Letter to My Running Shoes…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. I also have a special relationship with my sneakers. I’ve had the same pair for about 2 years now and don’t plan on getting new ones until they fall apart. Sneakers are functional, reliable, and comfortable. And you’re not really too concerned about what they look like. Kinda like the man you see as hubby material. But on the other hand, what woman doesn’t love to wear a pair of sexy 4 inch heels every now and then, even though you know they will hurt you?! Maybe I should marry my sneakers and keep my stilettos as jump-offs.

Leave a Reply

